top of page
  • Gabriella

Sweet curd cheese dumplings aka túrógombóc is traditional hungarian dessert. It’s a sweet curd cheese ball rolled into toasted bread crumbs and covered with sour cream and powdered sugar.


I am finally back!! I know, I know I went to a quite long break but I am here now to share tons of new recipes. I had a wonderfull Christmas break and New Year’s Eve. I got back to scool and organized my life a bit in the last few weeks. So I am ready for 2018!!


I know this recipe might sounds weird. But trust me, Hungarians know how to use sweet curd cheese (as I said before in my Sweet Curd Cheese Breakfast Braid post it’s a common ingredient here).


It’s a simple and super quick recipe AND healthy-ish!!!!!!!!! I know at the beginning of the new year everybody tries to reduce the sugar and all the unhealthy stuff, so I decided to share a bit healthier dessert first. But don’t worry if you are here for something calorie packed you can make this with all purpose flour or semolina instead of oat flour and granulated sugar.


You just mix the ingredients together and cook them in boiling water then you cover them with toasted bread crumbs with cinnamon. I like to add some seeds for exmaple sunflower seeds to add a little extra texture.


The best part of this dessert is the sweet sour cream „glaze”. Basically you just drizzle it with tons of sour cream and powdered sugar (in this case I used erythritol). If you want to make it even better mix the sugar and sour cream together before adding it on top of the balls. It’s sooooo delicious, you have to give it a try even if you aren’t a huge sour cream fan. The overall taste is similar to a baked cheesecake.


If you try this special Hungarian dessert let me know how much you like it!


Have a nice weekend!

Sweet Curd Cheese Dumplings „Túrógombóc”

 

Prep Time: 10 min. Cooking Time: 15 minutes Total Time: 1,5 hours (with cooling) Portions: around 10 dumplings

 

Ingredients:

For the dumplings:

- 200g oat flour (or all-purposeflour or semolina) - 500g sweet curd cheese („túró”) - 150g butter (melted) - 1 teaspoon salt - 1 tablespoon sweetener of your choice (I use erythritol or granulated sugar) - 4 eggs (separated)

For the coating:

- 200g bread crumbs - 1-2 tablespoons seeds (optional, I used a mixture of sesame seeds, flaxseeds and sunflower seeds) - 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon - 1 tablespoon erythritol or granualted sugar (optional) - 2-3 tablespoons oil or butter - sour cream and powdered sugar or sweetener of your choice for serving

Directions:

  1. Mix the oat flour, sweet curd cheede, 150g butter, salt and sweetener together in a large bowl with a wooden spoon. Add the egg yolks. Lett he mixture set int he fridge for about 1-2 hours. (If you don’t have time you can cook them without chilling)

  2. Whip up your egg whites and fold them into the mixture.

  3. In a large pot bring water to a boil with a pinch of salt.

  4. Meanwhile the water is warming up, in a frying pan toast the bread crumbs with the cinnamon, the one tablespoon sugar and butter or oil. Make sure you stir it constantly because it gets burned easily.

  5. When the water is boiling shape balls with your wet hands. The balls should be a bit smaller than tennis balls.

  6. Set a few into the boiling water. Make sure they aren’t overcrowded. Cook them until they come up to the surface of the water. To test cut one into two halves. It should be soft int he inside but not too mushy.

  7. Roll them into the roasted bread crumbs. Serve them warm with a generous amount of sour cream and powdered sugar.

 

158 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
rsz_1rsz_baking_gym_logo1_burned.jpg

Hi! 

My name is Gabriella. I'm 20

and obsessed with baking, eating and taking photos about things I bake and eat. If you want to know more about my "super exciting" life read more here...

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Baking Gym Logo1_burned.jpg
bottom of page