top of page
  • Gabriella

Have you ever thought about making you own Toblerone? Nope? Then here is the perfect time to try it!


Toblerone is that special sweet for me that I only eat when I travel somewhere! I think it’s because for a long time you couldn’t buy toblerone in Hungary only at the airport. So we only got some if somebody went to a foreign country. Of course now you can buy it almost everywhere but it still remained as a special dessert!


I was just eating some when I realized I could make my own! I looked for the components and it turned out that basically you need good quality chocolate and a honey almond nougat!


The nougat is a bit tricky but it was my first time making it and it turned out perfect so I am sure you can make it too! The only thing you need is a candy thermometer! That is very important!

I made a quite small batch of nougat but you only need a tiny amount in the chocolate bar so I cut the rest of them into rectangles and wrapped them as small candies! (Also makes a perfect gift so it’s a two in one recipe!)


For the chocolate I used a plastic mold but you can use any kind of silicon mold too!

The chocolate bar was a present for one of my classmate and she said she loved it so much she ate the whole thing in one day!


I would say the chocolate bar is perfect for everybody, but I would give the plain nougats for only somebody who is obsessed with sweets because that is really....REALLY sweet! Even for me!


This is the perfect last minute gift idea because you only need a few ingredients and it’s super quick!


Guys I can’t believe there is only one recipe left from 12 days of xmas!!!! I kept a special hungarian treat for the last one! So make sure you come back on Saturday!

Homemade Toblerone

 

Prep Time: 5 min. Cooking Time: 10 min. Total Time: 2 hours Portions: 1 chocolate bar

 

Ingredients:

For the honey-almond nougat:

  • ¼ + 1/8 cup honey

  • ½ cup granulated ugar

  • 1 egg white

  • 25-50 g whole or chopped almonds (I only had sliced)

For the chocolte bar:

  • 100 g good quality milk chocolate (you can use dark too)

  • 10-20 g chopped almonds

Directions:

Honey-Almond Nougat:

  1. In a heavy-bottomed sauce pan start to warm up the sugar and honey together. After the sugar is completely disolved do not stir it, just let it boil until it reaches 275 F or 142 C.

  2. When it’s getting close to 275 F or 142 C, start to whip up your egg white. When the sugar syrup reached the right temperature slowly pour it into the egg whites while constantly whipping.

  3. Whip until it’s thick and shiny. Fold the almonds into it.

  4. Spread it into a buttered silicon mold. Let it cool down and set completely.

  5. When the nougat is set cut it into squares and wrap them into plastic. Chop a few squares into tiny pieces for the chocolate bar.

Chocolate Bar:

  1. Melt 2/3 of your chocolate (around 65g) on a bain-marine. ( Fill a pot with water and start boiling it. Then put a metal or glass bowl on top of the pot. Be careful and make sure that the bottom of the bowl isn’t in the water and the bowl is big enough. When you stir the chocolate use a kitchen cloth to hold the bowl because it can be hot.)

  2. When the chocolate is melted take it off from the bain-marine and stir in the other 1/3 of the chocolate. Make sure that all of your chocolate is melted.

  3. Put a few tablespoons of your melted chocolate into your mold and with a small spoon push it up to the sides and into all the gaps. Let it set for a few minutes.

  4. Sprinkle the nougat and almond pieces evenly on top of the chocolate and spread the rest of the melted chocolate on it. Tap it few time to the counter to let the air bubbles escape.

  5. Put it into the fridge for 1-2 hours or until it’s completely set.


Click on the photo to read the last post!

If you try the recipe use the #12daysofxmasbybakinggym hashtag and tag me, so I can see your creations!

 

7,667 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
rsz_1rsz_baking_gym_logo1_burned.jpg

Hi! 

My name is Gabriella. I'm 20

and obsessed with baking, eating and taking photos about things I bake and eat. If you want to know more about my "super exciting" life read more here...

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Baking Gym Logo1_burned.jpg
bottom of page