top of page
  • Gabriella

Crispy, cinnamon-y roasted pumpkin seeds are the perfect way to use the leftover seeds from a pumpkin.


Do you know that feeling when you carve a pumpkin for Halloween and have lots of leftover seeds that you really don’t want to throw away? This Halloween I decided to roast them and the amazing recipe was born.


Don’t worry, you don’t have to click away this post because you can use the seeds of any pumpkin basically. I usually make them when I roast my pumpkins for pumpkin puree. I just carve out the seeds then roast the pumpkin halves. And at the end I have pumpkin puree and delicious pumpkin seeds. That’s definitely a good deal.


It’s reall not too difficult to make. You need to rest your pumpkin seeds in a big bowl of water so any leftover pumpkin piece can sink down to the bottom. Then you can strain the pumpkin seeds from the top of the water and dry them with a kitchen towel.

After this little trick, it’s all about the seasoning. This time I’m sharing a sweet cinnamon-y one but you can make savory or spicy seeds too.


And now I just have to talk a little bit about Christmas. Soooo how the heck today is the 9th of December already??!!! How do you guys like the 12 days of Christmas so far?!!! I love it!


Back to the recipe. These pumpkin seeds are incredibly addicting, but hey! They are almost completely healthy! So it’s the perfect snack around this time when it’s all about unhealthy food. Also it’s a perfect homemade gift idea! You can easily double the recipe if needed.

Cinnamon Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

 

Prep Time: 5 min. Baking Time: 30 min. Total Time: 1 hour Portions: 1 cup seeds

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup raw pumpkin seeds

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil

  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar

  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

  • pinch of salt

Directions:

  1. Fill a large bowl with water and soak the pumpkin seeds. After 15-30 minutes the leftover pumpkin pieces will sink down so you can easily scoop the seeds from the water.

  2. While the seeds are soaking preheat your oven to 300 F or 150 C. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

  3. Dry the pumpkin seeds with a kitchen towel.

  4. Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl then spread the seeds onto the baking sheet, make sure it’s in one layer so every piece can roast evenly.

  5. Bake them for 20-30 minutes or until they become golden brown. Toss them after every 10 minutes.

  6. Let them cool down completely. They will turn crispier.


Click on the photo to read the last post!

If you try the recipe use the #12daysofxmasbybakinggym hashtag and tag me, so I can see your creations!

18 views0 comments
rsz_1rsz_baking_gym_logo1_burned.jpg

Hi! 

My name is Gabriella. I'm 20

and obsessed with baking, eating and taking photos about things I bake and eat. If you want to know more about my "super exciting" life read more here...

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Baking Gym Logo1_burned.jpg
bottom of page