top of page
  • Gabriella

Everybody needs a trusty chocolate sauce recipe! This is my version.


On the second day of Christmas my true love sent to me … a bottle of homemade chocolate sauce. I know it doesn’t work with the song. I should stick to baking, music isn’t really my thing.

Have you read my last post? Are you guys excited for the next month and all the recipes?! I am for sure!

Today was the ultimate christmas-y day for me. I think it might be one of the best days of this December! And it is only the first weekend! First things first the snow was falling all day they that instantly makes everything festive. We also had the fireplace going, I baked some special hungarian christmas-y dessert, while christmas songs were playing in the background. We also lit the first candle on our advent wreath. And the vibes were soooo festive all day! Guys let me know about your perfect christmas-y day. I am dying to know!


But back to baking. Here is the first recipe that makes a perfect edible gift. Homemade chocolate sauce is an amazing gift idea because you can make a giant batch, divide it into nice little jars with gift tags and give them to all of your loved ones!


It’s a really simple recipe but makes a super delicious fudgy sauce that isn’t bitter but not too sweet either. The trick of this sauce is the coffee. It brings out the chocolate flavor perfectly, but if you aren’t a coffee drinker just use water instead.


You can serve it warm with ice cream or drizzle it on top of chocolate sponges to make a cake even moister (I used this method in The Chocolate Cake recipe and the Momofuku inspired Chocolate Coffee Cake recipe). If you don’t use it after making it, just keep it in the fridge and warm up a bit before serving to make it runnier.


Warning! It might cause addiction so make sure you keep it in a safe place!

Homemade Chocolate Sauce

 

Prep Time: 2 min. Cooking Time: 5-8 min. Total Time: 10 min. Portions: 8

 

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

  • 1 cup granulated sugar

  • a pinch of salt

  • ¾ cup brewed coffee or water

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

  • ¼ cup semi-sweet chocolate (chopped)

Directions:

  1. In a medium sized saucepan mix the cocoa, sugar and salt together.

  2. Add the coffee and start to warm it up while constantly stirring.

  3. When the sugar is all disolved add the vanilla and the chocolate. Stir until completely smooth. Keep it in an airtight container or a jar in the fridge.


Click on the photo to read the last post!

If you try the recipe use the #12daysofxmasbybakinggym hashtag and tag me, so I can see your creations!

 

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
rsz_1rsz_baking_gym_logo1_burned.jpg

Hi! 

My name is Gabriella. I'm 20

and obsessed with baking, eating and taking photos about things I bake and eat. If you want to know more about my "super exciting" life read more here...

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Baking Gym Logo1_burned.jpg
bottom of page