top of page
  • Gabriella

Sweet, spicy, and a tiny bit sour. The most christmasy citrus curd you have ever seen.


Christmas day is soooo close and I am very excited! But I still have some gifts to make and I think I am not the only one. So here is a quick recipe to make edible presents. This is a really easy last minute gift idea.


I love any kind of citrus curds but this one! OMG seriusly on of my favourites. The orange isn’t as sour as a lemon and the spices make a perfect balance with it.


You can make a lot of ahead and store them in cute jars, so you can give them to anybody if you need a last minute present. Season it how you want with any kind of spices. This time I used some cinnamon, cloves and ginger.


You can fill some sugar cookies with it or cakes, make meringue pies but nobody will judge you if you eat it with a spoon from a jar ;).


What’s you perfect last minute recipe? Share it with me in the comments or send me an email.


Spicy Orange Curd

 

Prep Time: 5 min. Cooking Time: 15 min. Total Time: 20 min. Portion: one small jar

 

Ingredients:

  • the zest and the juice of one large orange

  • 100g granulated sugar

  • 3 egg yolks

  • 30g butter

  • spices (I used ¼ teaspoon cinnamon, cloves and ginger or you can use gingerbread spice mix)

Directions:

  1. Put the orange juice, zest, sugar and spices in a metal or glass bowl. Start cooking it on a bain-marine. ( Fill a pot with water and start boiling it. Then put the metal or glass bowl on top of the pot. Be careful and make sure that the bottom of the bowl isn’t in the water and the bowl is big enough. When you stir the curd use a kitchen cloth to hold the bowl because it can be hot.)

  2. Stir until all the sugar is dissolved. Mix in the cold butter.

  3. When all the butter is melted take it off from the stove and add the egg yolks while you stir it with a whisk or a spoon. (Make sure you stir so the yolks don't cook. Nobody wants crumbled eggs in their curd ;)

  4. Put it back to the stove and stir continuously until it’s cooked and thickened.

  5. Let it cool down then put it in a jar. You can keep it in your fridge until you need to use it.

 

161 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
rsz_1rsz_baking_gym_logo1_burned.jpg

Hi! 

My name is Gabriella. I'm 20

and obsessed with baking, eating and taking photos about things I bake and eat. If you want to know more about my "super exciting" life read more here...

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Baking Gym Logo1_burned.jpg
bottom of page