top of page
  • Gabriella

These cookies are everything a human being can dream about! GIANT thick, gooey super chocolatey cookies with melty peanut butter chips. I can’t even…


Happy 100th post! I mean I know that the last time I posted was more than 2 months ago and my regular one post/week schedule isn’t really working anymore, but anyways 100 posts … that is a lot.


And I am happy to celebrate this milestone with one of the best recipes ever! I mean cookies are my favorite. It took me a while to make a final decision. But here is the thing cookies are usually super quick and easy to make there are endless variations and you can just grab one (or ten) and go. While cakes and other desserts can be a lot more time consuming and complicated. So bring me all the cookies!!


Now here is the background story. I have never been to New York before therefore I haven’t tried the famous Levain Bakery cookies… or any other famous NYC foods. Hopefully, I can make an NYC food tour very soon (even though first I have to start my university studies and find a way to pay my tuition fees :D) but The Big Apple is definitely on the top of my travel bucket list. But back to the cookies. Since I haven’t tried the original ones I am not calling these copycat cookies. Nope, these cookies are just simply Gigantic chocolate peanut butter chip cookies…that happened to be really similar to the Levain Bakery cookies.


Let’s talk about the process behind this recipe because I really tried my best. I searched for hours and studied tons of different recipes to create this one. To be honest it absolutely worthed the time because these cookies are EVERYTHING! Probably one of the best cookies I have ever made.


Super chocolatey almost like a brownie, soft warm and gooey on the inside with tons of speckles of salty peanut butter chips and the edges are just slightly crispy.


And the size of them. One is absolutely more than enough, even for me… and that really is something. You could definitely make smaller ones, but why would you, when you can have a giant cookie instead? However, if you do reduce the size make sure to bake them a few minutes less so they do not get overbaked.


It wasn’t a good idea to start writing this post 10pm on a Thursday evening with no cookies around (or basically any dessert). Nevermind I am almost done. :D


So as a conclusion you should definitely go right now and bake these cookies okay…bye

GIANT Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies

 

Prep Time: 15 minutes Baking Time: 10 min. Total Time: 1,5 hour Portions: 10 GIANT cookies

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup and 4 tablespoons or 282g butter (cold)

  • ¾ cup light brown sugar

  • 1 cup granulated sugar

  • 2 eggs

  • ½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

  • 1 and ½ cup all-purpose flour

  • 1 cup cake flour

  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

  • ½ teaspoon salt

  • 2 x 10 oz. package or 560 g peanut butter chips (preferably Reese’s)

Directions:

  1. In a big bowl of a standing mixer combine the butter and the sugars with the paddle attachment on high speed until it’s really pale and fluffy around 2-3 minutes.

  2. On low speed add the eggs. Mix for 5 minutes.

  3. In a medium bowl sift and mix together the cocoa powder, the two types of flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

  4. Add the flour mixture to the whipped butter mixture. Mix them just until everything is combined for 1 minute.

  5. Add the peanut butter chips. And mix on low speed for 30 seconds. It’s going to be a quite thick dough so you might need your hands to evenly fold in the chips.

  6. Make 170g balls with your hands. It should make about 10 giant cookies. You can make smaller ones too, but make sure to reduce the baking time! Place them on a baking sheet and put it in the freezer for at least 1 hour. Don’t bake the cookies from room temperature!

  7. Preheat your oven to 410F or 210C.

  8. Place the cooled cookies onto parchment paper lined baking sheets. Leave at least 3 inches space between the cookies. I baked 5 cookies at a time. I flattened them just slightly before baking because these cookies do not spread as much as a normal cookie would.

  9. Bake them for 10-12 minutes. It’s good when the cookies are slightly soft and underbaked in the middle but the edges are firm. Don’t over bake them! Let them cool on the sheet for 10 minutes then transfer them onto a wire rack. The cookies firm up as they cool. I would definitely recommend serving them still warm. Or just reheat them whenever you need a cookie.

 

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
rsz_1rsz_baking_gym_logo1_burned.jpg

Hi! 

My name is Gabriella. I'm 20

and obsessed with baking, eating and taking photos about things I bake and eat. If you want to know more about my "super exciting" life read more here...

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Baking Gym Logo1_burned.jpg
bottom of page