top of page
  • Gabriella

The most autumnal cake ever. Sweet chestnut base with super creamy, smooth and spicy pumpkin cream layer. For some extra crunch, I added some cinnamon-spiced crumble.


Fall, fall, fall I know I am basic but I love it! Almost as much as I love Christmas!! I am so excited about the fact that trees are getting more and more colorfully and I can’t wait to have some serious hiking sessions and photography.


Finally, I am sharing a fall dessert. But not just any recipe, this is basically fall in cake form. It was inspired by the chestnut dream cake I shared almost 2 years ago. And if you leave the crumble out it is completely no bake.


The chestnut base is almost completely the same, however, I used less sugar, cause we are healthy here :D.


The creamy pumpkin filling is my new favorite thing. I have no idea how I have never thought about it. I made a simple vanilla pudding from store-bought mixture with some pumpkin spice, then I added pureed pumpkin. I have to say it required tons of willpower not to eat the whole thing straight from the bowl. But I am definitely going to make just the pumpkin cream filling part because it is heaven!


For the crunchy part, I followed a Momofuku crumble recipe as the base and of course I added some cinnamon because it is fall so you just have to add it to everything!


Guys, this cake is super simple almost completely no bake, healthy-ish since it doesn’t contain lots of sugar and you can even substitute it with any sweetener. And it is incredibly delicious obviously. So I don’t want to hear excuses. You have to try it!


Chestnut Pumpkin Cream Cake

 

Prep Time: 10 min. Cooking Time: 15 min. Total Time: 4,5 hours Portions: 8-10 slices

 

Ingredients:

For the base:

  • 500g chestnut puree

  • 200g biscuits or cookies (something sweet tea biscuit or cookie with a not too overpowering flavour like rich tea or vanilla wafers)

  • 100g powdered sugar

  • 1 teaspoon rum flavouring

  • 100 ml milk

For the pumpkin cream:

  • 600 ml milk

  • 2 bags of vanilla flavoured puding powder (around 80 g)

  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin spice*

  • 100g powdered sugar

  • 100g butter

  • 1 and ½ cups pure pumpkin puree**

For the Crumble:

  • 40g milk powder (seperated)

  • 40g all purpose flour

  • 12g or 2 tablespoons cornflour

  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon

  • 25g granulated sugar

  • ½ teaspoons kosher or sea salt

  • 55g butter (melted)

*I made my own. Mix together 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon, 1 teaspoon ground ginger, 1/2 teaspoon allspice, ½ teaspoon ground cloves, ½ teaspoon ground nutmeg.

**I made my own pumpkin puree. I cut a whole pumpkin into two halves.Cover a baking sheet with aluminium foil. Put the halves on the baking sheet and bake on 410 F or 210 C for around 1 hour or until it’s soft everywhere when you push a fork in it. Let it cool down and then peel the skin off. Put them in a food processor and blend until it’s creamy.

Directions:

Base:

  1. Put the biscuits or cookies into a foodprocessor and crush them into fine crumbs. (or put them into a plastic bag and crush them with a rolling pin.)

  2. Add the crumble, the chestnut puree, the rum flavouring and the 100g powdered sugar. Start adding the 100 ml milk, a few tablespoons at a time. Mix them together. It’s good when it’s not dry but still holds it’s shape.

  3. Push the mixture into an 8-inch or 20 cm springform cake tin.Make sure it is an even layer.

Pumpkin Cream:

  1. Put the pudding powder, the pumpkin spice and the 100g of the powdered sugar into a large sauce pan and mix them together.

  2. Then add the 600 ml milk in small batches and mix it well.

  3. Cook the pudding until it’s thick then let it cool down a little bit.

  4. Mix in the butter. (I used a hand mixer), and add the pumpkin puree.

  5. Spread it evenly on top of the base and set it int he fridge for at least 4 hours.

Crumble:

  1. Preheat your oven to 265 F or 130 C. Lina a baking sheet with parchment paper.

  2. In a medium bowl mix together the milk powder, flour, cornflour, cinnamon, sugar and salt.

  3. Add the melted butter and toss together until small crumbs start to form.

  4. Spread it onto the baking sheet and bake for 20 min. Let it cool down completely. Decorate the cake with it.

 

159 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
rsz_1rsz_baking_gym_logo1_burned.jpg

Hi! 

My name is Gabriella. I'm 20

and obsessed with baking, eating and taking photos about things I bake and eat. If you want to know more about my "super exciting" life read more here...

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Baking Gym Logo1_burned.jpg
bottom of page