top of page
  • Gabriella

A special cake for a very special occasion. The best chocolate sponges filled with nutella whipped ganache, ferrero chocolates and toasted hazelnuts.


This ferrero inspired cake is one of the best things ever, I believe. It’s not a huge cake but I am 100% sure that a tiny slice is more than enough.


So, the story behind the cake. I started TRX more than 3 years ago and I had the same instructor since the first day. She is the best! But this June she started teaching new classes at another place. I was and I still am soooo sad. One of here favorite chocolate is ferrero (not sponsored of course :D but ferrero please sponsor me!!) so I had to make her the best ferrero cake ever.


To be honest this is a pretty quick cake the most difficult part for me was to find ferreros. I went to 4 different stores before I finally found one package! And that one was the last one.


So I used my good old super moist chocolate sponge recipe the same I used in The Chocolate Cake recipe. Quick but the best.


Then I made a whipped nutella chocolate ganache for that you basically need three ingredients chocolate, heavy cream and nutella.


Between the layers I hid ferrero halves. This is a pretty tall cake so you might need to chill it between the layers so it doesn’t slip apart.


Then just for extra decoration I dripped some basic chocolate ganache over the edges and added more Ferrero halves.

This cake is a must have for every ferrero lover!

Ferrero Cake

 

Prep Time: 30 min. Baking Time: 20 min. Total Time: 2 hours Portions: 4-6 slices

 

Ingredients:

For the sponges:

  • 125g all-purpose flour

  • 1 cups or 200g granulated sugar

  • 25g cocoa powder (unsweetened)

  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 1/2 cup or 110g milk

  • 1/2 cup or 110g freshly brewed coffee (You can add just one more cup milk instead)

  • 1/4 cup or 60g vegetable oil (or any flavorless oil)

  • 1 egg

  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract

Nutella Whipped Ganache:

  • 200g heavy cream

  • 100g dark chocolate

  • 100g nutella

Chocolate Ganache:

  • 100g dark chocolate

  • 100g heavy cream

  • 10-16 ferrero rochers

  • 100g roughly chopped hazelnuts

Directions:

The sponge:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350F or 180C. Line 5 4inch or 10 cm round cake pans with parchment paper. (I have only on pan like this so I used that one and removed the baked sponges right after baking to fill it again with the cake batter.)

  2. Sift the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt into a large bowl and stir them together.

  3. In a large jug or bowl mix the milk, coffee, oil, egg and vanilla together.

  4. Pour the wet mixture into the dry one and mix them together just until everything is combined.

  5. Divide the mixture into the pans and bake them for 15-20 minutes until the top of them are set and a fork comes out clean.

  6. Turn them out of the pans onto a cooling rack and let them cool down completely.

Nutella Whipped Ganache:

  1. Melt all the ingredients in 30 second intervalls mixing inbetween.

  2. Let it cool down completely.

  3. Use an electrix hand whisk and whip it up until it’s light fluffy and pale brown.

Chocolate Ganache:

  1. Melt the chocolate and the heavy cream together mix until it’s smooth.

  2. Let it cool down until it’s still quite runny but not hot.

Assembling the cake:

  1. Cut the ferreros into halves.

  2. Set the first sponge layer on a serving plate. Cover it with a thin layer of the whipped ganache then set 4 ferrero halves on it.

  3. Cover it with more whipped ganache.

  4. Repeat this process with all the layers.

  5. Cover the whole cake with a thin crumb coat than set it in the fridge for 30 minutes to cool down.

  6. Cover the cake with the rest of the whipped ganache.

  7. Spread the plane ganache on top of it and decorate it with ferrero halves and the chopped hazelnuts.

 

88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
rsz_1rsz_baking_gym_logo1_burned.jpg

Hi! 

My name is Gabriella. I'm 20

and obsessed with baking, eating and taking photos about things I bake and eat. If you want to know more about my "super exciting" life read more here...

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Baking Gym Logo1_burned.jpg
bottom of page