top of page
  • Gabriella

An easier and much faster version of pumpkin pie! These pumpkin streusel bars have a crumbly base, a layer of pumpkin pie filling and crumbly, crunchy oat streusel on the top.


Last week I shared a non-pumpki recipe! I know… I was brave enough to share a recipe without any pumpkin or pumpkin pie spice in November! But don’t worry pumpkin is back!


As every fall lover I am obsessed with pumpkin pie. I love to make it, but sometimes I don’t have enough time to make a proper pie dough and let it chill. I just want a slice of pie as soon as possible.

In that case this recipe is perfect.


Guess what ?! I used my basic bar base (what a word combination) as always. It’s just so perfect I don’t want to take the risk and try a new one. It turnes out crumbly and sweet. Sooo dangerous I could eat the whole thing just as it is.


Then I made a pumpkin pie filling with home made pumpkin puree and lots of pumpkin pie spice.

It still needed something crunchy so I decided to finish it with some oat streusel topping. Very good decision. It literally took 3 more minutes to make but gave lots of flavor and texture to the whole bar.


See, as good as pumpkin pie but takes a lot less time. Basically you put the whole thing together in 15 minutes then you bake it for 1 hour and it is ready to eat. It’s delicious when it’s warm but it’s even better cold.


Try the recipe this weekend or make it for Thanksgiving and let me know how it turned out!

Happy weekend!

Pumpkin Streusel Bars

 

Prep Time: 15 min. Baking: 60-70 min. Total time: 2 hours Portions: 9 bigger or 16 smaller squares

 

Ingredients:

Base:

  • ½ cup or 115g butter

  • ½ cup or 110g granulated sugar

  • ¼ cup or 40g brown sugar

  • 1 and ½ cup or 210g all purpose flour

  • a pinch of salt

Pumpkin filling:

  • 500g pumpkin puree* (not pumpkin pie filling!)

  • 2 eggs

  • ¼ cup granulated sugar

  • 1 and ½ teaspoons pumpkin pie spice**

Oat streusel topping:

  • ½ cup all purpose flour

  • ¼ cup granulated sugar

  • ¼ cup oats

  • ¼ teaspoon pumpkin pie spice or cinnamon

  • 60g butter (melted)

*I made my own pumpkin puree. I cut a whole pumpkin into two halves.Cover a baking sheet with aluminium foil. Put the halves on the baking sheet and bake on 410 F or 210 C for around 1 hour or until it’s soft everywhere when you push a fork in it. Let it cool down and then peel the skin off. Put them in a food processor and blend until it’s creamy.

**I made my own. Mix together 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon, 1 teaspoon ground ginger, 1/2 teaspoon allspice, ½ teaspoon ground cloves, ½ teaspoon ground nutmeg.

Directions:

Base:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F or 180 C. Line an 8-inch or 20cm square pan with parchment paper.

  2. Melt the butter in a large microwave-safe bowl in 30-second intervals for around 1 minute.

  3. Add both sugars and mix it well with a fork.

  4. Mix in the flour and salt until you get a dry mixture with smaller and bigger crumbs.

  5. Spread the mixture in the pan and press it down with a spatula until you get a flat, packed base. Pre bake it for 10 min.

Pumpkin filling:

  1. In a large bowl mix together all the ingredients for the filling.

  2. Pour the mixture on top of the base.

Oat streusel topping:

  1. In a medium sized bowl toss the ingredients for the topping together with a fork until you get a wet, crumbly mixture.

  2. Spread it on top of the pumpkin filling evenly.

  3. Bake the whole thing together for 50 – 60 minutes or until the filling is thickened and the top is golden brown. Let it cool down.

 

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
rsz_1rsz_baking_gym_logo1_burned.jpg

Hi! 

My name is Gabriella. I'm 20

and obsessed with baking, eating and taking photos about things I bake and eat. If you want to know more about my "super exciting" life read more here...

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Baking Gym Logo1_burned.jpg
bottom of page