top of page
  • Gabriella

There is no fall without a good old apple pie.


If you need a perfect recipe here is one. It’s sooo delicious I can’t even explain.


I have to admit that I haven’t really baked an apple pie before this one. I know … I know. Who am I?! But in Hungary we usually make a different kind of apple pie. (The Hungarian pie actually looks like a bar. Two layers of crumbly sweet base filled with fruit or other fillings. It’s also amazing so I’ll share the recipe with you later.)


I checked a lot of pie dough recipes to make sure it’s the perfect one. I found this on Martha Stewart’ website. It has a really fancy name (Pate Brisee) but actually it’s so easy to make and incredibly delicious. Flaky, buttery and not too sweet.


The filling is a basic apple pie filling but it’s just simply perfection. Soft, sweet and spicy apples covered with a sugary syrup. It's a must have in fall.


It looks like a complicated recipe but it’s pretty easy. You can make the pie dough a few days ahead or even make it any time you want and then freeze it until you want to make a pie. The worst part is that the baking and cooling takes a little time.


I have to admit that after I baked this pie, my mum, my sister and I ate the whole thing in one day.


I think this might give you and idea of how good it was.


A little tip at the end: it’s even better when slightly warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and hot caramel sauce. Ok I think it’s too much to handle :D


Go and bake some ;)

Apple Pie

 

Prep Time: 25 min. Baking Time: 1 and 1/2 hours Total Time: 5+ hours Portion: 8 slices

 

Ingredients:

Pate Brisee:

  • 2 sticks or 225g cold butter cubes

  • 2 and ½ cups or 375g all-purpose flour

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 1 teaspoon sugar

  • 1/3 - 1/2 cup cold water

Filling:

  • 3 pounds or 7-8 apples (baking or Granny Smith are the best)

  • ½ cup or 110g sugar

  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice

  • ¾ teaspoon salt

  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

  • ½ teaspoon clove

  • 3 tablespoons flour

Pie:

  • flour for dusting

  • 1 egg

  • sugar for sprinkling

Directions:

Pate Brisee:

  1. In a food processor mix the flour, the sugar and the salt together.

  2. Add the butter and pulse until there are only pea-sized pieces left (no bigger).

  3. Add 1/3 cup water and pulse just until the crust holds together. Add 1 tablespoon water at a time if it’s too crumbly. Don’t overmix it!

  4. Divide the dough in half. Make two disks, and cover them with plastic wrap. Put them in the fridge for at least 1 hour or freeze them.

Apple pie:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 F or 190 C. Put an aluminium foil covered baking sheet in the centre.

  2. Peel and cut your apples into ½ inch pieces.

  3. Add the lemon juice, the sugar, the flour, the cinnamon, the clove and salt. Mix them together.

  4. Roll out one disk of dough on a floured surface to a round and place it into a 9-inch pie plate.

  5. Pour filling on the top of the crust but don’t add the liquid of the apples.

  6. Roll out the other disk and cut into 1/2 –inch strips.

  7. Lay the strips on top of the apples creating a lattice top.

  8. Beat the egg and brush the pie crust with it. Sprinkle sugar on the top.

  9. Put in the freezer for 20 minutes.

  10. Bake for 1 hour 20-30 minutes until the crust is golden on the bottom and the filling is bubbling. If it’s browning too quickly cover it with aluminium foil. Let it cool down for about 4 hours.

P.S.: Yeah, that's me in the background. ;)

70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
rsz_1rsz_baking_gym_logo1_burned.jpg

Hi! 

My name is Gabriella. I'm 20

and obsessed with baking, eating and taking photos about things I bake and eat. If you want to know more about my "super exciting" life read more here...

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Baking Gym Logo1_burned.jpg
bottom of page