top of page
  • Gabriella

Poppy seed bread pudding is a traditional Hungarian dessert. We usually eat it warm with vanilla sauce. But not this time…


I am so excited to share this recipe because it is sooo delicious and simple. As I mentioned before my father loves poppy seed dessert, and so does my whole family. I came up with this idea for Father’s day. It was a huge success.


Poppy seed bread pudding is originally made with a few day old bread or brioche soaked into milk and baked with poppy seed. Usually we serve it with vanilla custard or honey. I love to eat it on a cold winter afternoon. But in summer I am starving for something cold! Like ice cream…


I have made homemade ice cream before for the Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream Cake recipe and I used the same easy base. Whipped cream and sweetened condensed milk. I love this recipe because you don’t need an ice cream machine and you can create any kind of flavour!


I made a small batch of the poppy seed filling I used in the Poppy Seed Meringue Bar recipe. I let it cool down then swirled it into the base. I also marbled some on the top.


For the bread part I used store bought ladyfingers. They soaked a little bit and turned out not too crispy but not mushy at all.


This recipe is amazing because you can make it in less than 30 minutes. Pop it in the freezer for over night and next they you are ready to serve.


Poppy Seed Bread Pudding Ice Cream

 

Prep Time: 30 min. Freezing time: 8 hours Total time: 8,5 hours Portions: 3 pint

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups or 450 ml COLD! heavy cream

  • 400 g or 400 ml or 14 ounces or 1 can COLD! sweetened condensed milk

  • 2 teaspoon vanilla extract

  • 10 ladyfingers

  • 130 g poppy seed (grounded)

  • 60 g granulated sugar

  • 100 ml milk

  • ½ teaspoon rum extract

  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Before you start making it keep the cream and the sweetened condensed milk in the fridge!

  2. Put the grounded poppy seed, granulated sugar, milk, rum extract and cinnamon into a medium sauce pan and heat it up on a medium-low heat just until all the sugar is disolved. Stir it while you cook it. After 5 minutes take it off from the heat and let it cool down completely.

  3. In a large bowl beat the heavy cream on a medium-high speed with a standing mixer or a hand mixer. (Use a whisk attachment). Mix it for 4-5 minutes, until it’s in a soft peaks form.

  4. Pour in the condensed milk and add the vanilla extract mix it with the speed turnt back up high and until it’s in a thick and stiff peaks from.

  5. Carefully fold in ¾ of the poppy seed filling with a spatula. Keep it swirly. Cut up your ladyfingers into small pieces and fold them in.

  6. Spread the mixture into a container with a lid and marble the top with the rest of the filling and add some pieces of ladyfingers. Put on the lid and freeze over night or at least 8 hours.

 

57 views0 comments
rsz_1rsz_baking_gym_logo1_burned.jpg

Hi! 

My name is Gabriella. I'm 20

and obsessed with baking, eating and taking photos about things I bake and eat. If you want to know more about my "super exciting" life read more here...

  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Baking Gym Logo1_burned.jpg
bottom of page